Journeys of Dr. G at Tyler Arboretum

The sabbatical project continues, exploring all that Tyler Arboretum has to offer

The Country Gardeners Annual Greens Sale

Leave a comment

DSCN2894Today was the Annual Greens Sale by The Country Gardeners at Tyler Arboretum.  Founded in 1949, The Country Gardeners is an organization based in Lima, PA, with a mission to stimulate the love of gardening, help protect native species, and assist in good civic planting.  Each year, The Country Gardeners holds a one-day sale of fresh wreaths, pine roping, poinsettias, centerpieces, natural ornaments, and more.  The holiday greens can be pre-ordered or purchased on site, but a warning to those that think they might come at any time during the 9:30AM to 1:30PM sale time – these beautiful items go fast!

In the past, I had purchased my items on site, but this year, I decided to pre-order a wreath for my front door.  The description for the wreath read: “full, fragrant noble fir, decorated with pine cones, and a red velvet bow.”  I was not disappointed with my purchase!

I unfortunately was not able to stay for the second activity being held at Tyler today, the Woodland Winter Wonderland event.  But I look forward to the next event I have signed up for, the Natural Ornaments workshop taking place next Saturday at Tyler.

My wonderful wreath on my front door.  Happy holidays, everyone!

My wonderful wreath on my front door. Happy holidays, everyone!

Author: Dr. G

Dr. Laura Guertin, Professor of Earth Science, Penn State Brandywine. Learn more at http://about.me/drlauraguertin

Leave a Reply

