Journeys of Dr. G at Tyler Arboretum

The sabbatical project continues, exploring all that Tyler Arboretum has to offer

Starting Super Bowl Sunday at Tyler Arboretum

Leave a comment

Some people wait an entire year with great anticipation for this day – Super Bowl Sunday!  This is a day where people gather around television screens in their homes, in restaurants/bars, and even in airport lounges to see two teams battle it out (and the odds are that neither team is one that you were rooting for during the season!).

Knowing that I would be glued to my TV for the Super Bowl game and commercials, munching on chips and dips and all sorts of other unhealthy snack foods, I took advantage of the mild weather this morning and took a quick stroll on the Scenic Loop at Tyler Arboretum.  If you haven’t been out in the winter months, I strongly encourage you to get out and stroll.  You don’t need to have a pair of snowshoes or cross country skiis to head out and enjoy Tyler.  The Scenic Loop was perfectly clear today and filled with others such as myself enjoying the outdoors.

Below, I’ve included some photos from my time outside this morning.  Something I really like about the winter is the ability to see across the Arboretum – the sightlines are just impressive.  Be sure to get out and snap your winter views! Although, Punxsutawney Phil tells us that we have six more weeks of winter to “enjoy”….
Tyler Arboretum

Tyler Arboretum

Tyler Arboretum

Tyler Arboretum

Tyler Arboretum

I’m also going to brush up on 14 fun facts provided by the Smithsonian Institution about Sea Hawks and Broncos – everyone loves to learn new science facts at a Super Bowl party, right?  Such as – there is no actual thing as a “seahawk.”  As to who I’ll be rooting for?  (Hint – I used to live in Colorado before moving to Pennsylvania).

Author: Dr. G

Dr. Laura Guertin, Professor of Earth Science, Penn State Brandywine. Learn more at http://about.me/drlauraguertin

Leave a Reply

